The State of the Union: Middle Class at Risk

The key words of President Obama’s speech for me are these:
“We can either settle for a country where a shrinking number of people do really well, while a growing number of Americans barely get by. Or we can restore an economy where everyone gets a fair shot,”

Every American needs a fair shot. I have seen the direct result of a sinking bottom class as people in a once work oriented, middle class neighborhood walk their kids to and from school -because they no longer have jobs and cars; old ladies riding scooters in the rain to get groceries on the 3rd of the month, and strong men standing in line for aid, because whether they have job or not, they still must eat to live.
I could go on and on because I am a very observant person-I see a lot.

The America that I am seeing today is not the one I remember from my childhood-it is more akin to Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath and the rift between the social and economic classes is so wide that it is more like a canyon.

I have seen this economic inequity coming for over a decade now, closing in on the vulnerable like a disease as paychecks that were once plenty became barely enough and those that never were enough, have become extinct. Food prices go up daily, and wages go down, as hours are cut, jobs cut back and wages frozen.

The money that flowed freely across the economic spectrum, slowly began to build at the top–all the while, the keepers of the Rich-the Republicans have used propagandist terms such as ‘job creators’ to actually mean don’t touch the super rich…at all, not even to save the country.

It must stop. And I have no doubt it will at some point because the inequity is unsustainable. The balance is too far off and homeostasis must be reclaimed.

Author of The Torn Trilogy series of books
My life mission is to 'kill the dog that bit me' or conquer the monsters of family dysfunction: The Torn Trilogy is my defining work

Sara Niles

Author: Sara Niles Author/Blogger

Author and Blogger: Books, News, Art, and All Things Beautiful

1 thought on “The State of the Union: Middle Class at Risk”

Leave a Reply

